top of page

7.26.18. - Lancaster to Philadelphia (68 miles)

Before heading out today, David provided some useful directions for riding out of town. Traffic could be a little hectic during the morning commute, and it was worth avoiding if possible. I opted to ride along a few state routes n the first of which took me through the heart of Lancaster County. Towns along the way included Bird in Hand, Intercourse, and White Horse. After passing through the area, I read about the Amish of Lancaster county and learned that they are relatively liberal in regards to the use of technology. Even so, there were still indicators that they partook in many daily routines without the use of technology. Once near the periphery of Lancaster County, I took a second state highway towards Philadelphia that was relatively hilly. The length of these climbs paled in comparison to the length of the climbs out west. However, the grade of these hills was fairly comparable if not steeper in some spots than out west. Traffic was also picking up as I approached the end of PA-340 and turned on to US-30: the Lincoln Highway. This road is significant in that it passes just south of my hometown! Riding on US-30 again (the business route, not the expressway) brought up memories from riding through Dixon, and also made me think about the upcoming conclusion of the trip. Not long after riding on US-30, I opted to ride along a bike path instead of the busy shoulder of US-30. The Chester Valley Trail took me toward Valley Forge National Historic Park, but about two miles of riding along surface streets was necessary get to Valley Forge. Once in the park, paved footpaths were available for riding along. Having taken in parts of both Gettysburg and Valley Forge within two days of one another was extraordinary. After crossing the Schuylkill River, a bike path bearing the same name as the river would be the route for much of what remained for today's ride. Much like riding into Pittsburgh, there was an increasing amount of cyclists and runners as I approached Philadelphia. Just as I reached the Shawmont Valley neighborhood, the route went along a canal towpath that was considerably less treacherous than the C&O Towpath in Maryland. As I approached the Manayunk neighborhood, small businesses and restaurants were all within several footsteps of the towpath. After riding on this towpath, the route resumed on the Schuylkill River Trail. By this time, it was about 5:00pm, and dinner would soon be necessary. Before pressing on into Philadelphia, I stopped in Freemont Park and took in the Philadelphia skyline in the distance. I found myself reflecting on the trip as a whole and its approaching end: tomorrow, Atlantic City would be the culmination of 39 days worth of riding a bicycle across the country! I headed down Fairmount Ave. and into the Fairmount neighborhood. There were what seemed to be countless choices for eateries, and my preference was simple: outdoor seating with an unobstructed view of my locked up bicycle. Urban Saloon offered this and a unique backdrop with the Eastern State Penitentiary across the street. It's no longer functioning as a prison, but it is a museum. After reading up on it, it sounds like a place that would be interesting to take in the next time I visit Philadelphia. After dinner, I met my host at her residence, and she invited me out to meet her friends for a beer. Despite feeling a little tired, this was the final overnight of the trip, and I hadn't visited Philadelphia before. These reasons, and the kind invitation, alone were enough for going along and continuing to unwind from the second to last day of riding during this trip. Riding around Philadelphia in a vehicle really gave a different perspective of the city. It was an interesting blend of historical and modern architecture, the likes of which I can't say I've experienced before elsewhere in the United States. Meeting my host's friends was fun, and it was a great evening to sit outside and share conversation. Afterwards, we went back and talked about our respective touring experiences. The most significant similarity, I thought, were the kind, good-natured people that we encountered throughout our journeys. The day had finally caught up to me, and I was ready for bed. I planned to wake up early and take in the more historic places in downtown Philadelphia in the morning before riding out of town towards Atlantic City.  

You Might Also Like:
About Me

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me to add your own content and make changes to the font.

 

Read More

 

Join my mailing list

Search by Tags
No tags yet.

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page