top of page

6.20.19 - Orchard Beach State Park to Pioneer County Park (85 miles)

Last night's sleep was restful without raccoons prowling around the tent: wake-up was easy, and I found myself on the road by 7:00am. Serene backroads wound toward Luddington, where I stopped for a rare hearty breakfast before getting back on the road.  The Brenda Harbor Cafe provided a very filling breakfast in the form of an omlet with a side of corned beef hash. Sourthward, I proceeded toward Hart, where I planned to connect with the Hart-Montague trail which would lead me further southward into Michigan.  Trail riding offers peace of mind, yet I've always approached bike paths/trails with healthy skepticism since the collision on the Western Maryland Rail Trail back on July 23rd, 2018.  The backroads were peaceful and quite, which eased my mind. Not long after riding away from Ludington, I noticed another cyclist in my rearview (handlebar) mirror.  I stopped some distance before him, he slowed to a stop, and we had a pleasant conversation.  This gentleman had his share of touring experiences, having cycled across the country along the famed "Northern Tier" and "Southern Tier": this guy was (and is) a boss in my book.  And here we were, sharing a passion and a pastime on a backroad in Michigan!  I've seldom encountered other cyclists that have gone as far, dug as deep, and given so much to go as far.  Meeting these people is truly humbling and an honor.  To hear, and potentially share a commonality in their experience is a privilege, and meeting this man was no different.  After exchanging stories for 20 minutes, we parted and rode our respective ways. When I arrived in Hart, I briefly rode around town, which seemed to have a certain small town charm.  I pedaled to the Hart-Montague trailhead, and was glad to find that the path appeared to be recently paved.  Before heading much further, I made a reservation for a campsite at Duck Lake State Park.  When I arrived in Montague, I stopped for dinner at the Wayside Bar & Grille.  Stopping for a meal is always easier when you know that you have accommodations reserved down the road.  I only had seven miles to go, so it seemed like today was going to wrap up just like days prior.  I soon learned, however, that despite it being near the end of the day, there was still time for an adventure. I rode to Duck Lake State Park, and found that the entrance was closed.  I thought this was a little odd but figured that there was an alternate entrance to the park, and an online map of the park confirmed this suspicion.  When I got to this alternate entrance, there was no check-in or sign of any park employees.  This was truly bewildering, so I called a phone number associated with Duck Lake State Park, and the employee I spoke with confirmed that I had a reservation.  I conveyed that I was at Duck Lake State Park, but I couldn't find where to check in: there was no ranger station, no sign of campsites.  I described how I got to where I was, and after some back and forth, it occurred to me ask what town was nearby his whereabouts, and he responded, "Interlochen."  This didn't sound at all familiar, so I searched for it and to my surprise there was a second Duck Lake State Park (more commonly referred to as Interlochen State Park) that was 130 miles north of the Duck Lake State Park that I was presently at.  Confusion quickly transitioned to a frustrated scramble to find another place to camp for the evening while there was still daylight.  Fortunately, there was a county park (Pioneer County Park) a little more than five miles further south.


Luckily, campgrounds were still available at Pioneer County Park.  While setting up camp, I thought about how comical the whole ordeal was with Duck Lake State Park.  Imagine frustratedly conversing with someone about a place, believing you are at the place you intend to be at, only to realize that you are in fact not where you intend to be, and that where you are shares the exact same name with another place.  I feel like this particular situation has the makings to be an episode in a sitcom.  Humor aside, today's adventure had come to a close, and I was ready to rest up for tomorrow's ride.




You Might Also Like:
bottom of page