top of page

6.28.18. - Dubois to Shoshoni (95 miles)

Starting to ride earlier today was necessary, as the forecasted high temperature was 99° for Shoshoni; the next overnight destination. US-20 was a quiet and lonely road for the first five hours of riding. For the first 30 miles, there seemed to be a jarring bump every 20 yards or so on the shoulder that interrupted this otherwise tranquil ride. I found that riding on the road and maneuvering to the paved shoulder when traffic emerged was the best way to avoid the otherwise jolting ride. A stop at the only gas station along today's 95 mile route may not have been absolutely necessary, but playing it safe was a good move. Before leaving the gas station, I spotted a person wearing an Iowa shirt. I shared that I live in Marion and wondered where she and her family were from. Surprisingly, they were from Iowa City; just down the road from Cedar Rapids/Marion area! We had a pleasant chat for a few minutes. They had left Grand Teton National Park earlier in the morning around 5:00am, and it sounded like they were trying to make it back to Iowa City in one day! I'm glad that this trip afforded me opportunities to enjoy the places I had and would pedal through. About 20 miles down the road from the gas station, I was looking forward to stopping and having a meal. A junction on today's route provided an ideal place to stop for this meal. I was deep in thought; thinking of the burrito that I would have once I stopped. Mile markers counted down the distance to this junction. While mesmerized by the thoughts of having this burrito, I heard a dog barking in the distance. This was not highly unusual; it had happened every day thus far along the trip. No more than one minute later, I was slow to realize that the barking had become much louder and was unmistakably aggressive. I looked over my shoulder to see an English bulldog hustling down the road after me, no more than five yards behind me! My initial shock was soon replaced with lighthearted humor: there was no way he would catch me with his stubby legs and stocky build. These dogs were not bred to run. I dropped into a higher gear and pedaled on without incident. After having ther burrito and other foodstuffs at the junction, it appeared that I had about 36 miles of riding until Shoshoni. The heat was picking up, so a slower pace with plenty of water for drinking would ensure a safe ride. About 10 miles away from Shoshoni, an incline stood between me and the junction with US-20. I gave a firm kick down with my left leg and heard that all too familiar pop of metal: another broken spoke on the rear rim! I'm a strong cyclist, but by no means am I that strong. Riding these next 10 miles required a little more attention to balance than usual. Even when only one spoke breaks on a 36 spoke rim, the wheel becomes untrue and doesn't rotate in a perfect path. It's rotation becomes off center with the frame of the bicycle. Needless to say, my confidence in the integrity of this rear rim was now entirely eroded. I was extremely fortunate that the folks hosting me at Mills (the next overnight town after Shoshoni) had connected me with a bike shop in neighboring Casper. If I could make it there, Tyler, the mechanic, could rebuild the wheel. After arriving in Shoshoni, I had lunch at one of the few places that served food in town. A sub sandwich along with huckleberry lemonade (we're truly deprived of this delicacy in the Midwest) held me over until a dehydrated dinner later that evening. Having a motel room allowed me to catch up with blogging. Some days are tougher than others when it comes to keeping up on the blog. Speaking of tough, the next day provided one of the more frustrating challenges thus far along the trip.  

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page